List of IGAD Member Countries

Read on to identify IGAD member states, their unifying factors, and founder members.


List of IGAD Member Countries

    1. The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) was created in 1996 to supersede the Intergovernmental Authority on Drought and Development which was founded in 1986.
    2. The latter was formed to deal with issues related to drought and desertification in the Horn of Africa.

The following are the current member states of IGAD:

      1. Kenya

2. Ethiopia

3. Djibouti

4. Somalia

5. Eritrea

6. Uganda

7. Sudan

8. South Sudan



Also read: List of All European Union (EU) Members



IGAD Founder Members

    1. Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Somalia, Sudan, and Uganda founded IGADD (1986) to battle drought and secure the development of the region.
    2. Eritrea later joined in 1993 after its independence.
    3. South Sudan also joined in 2011 following its achievement of Independence.



Also read: List of All COMESA Member Countries



What is common about IGAD members?

    1. The countries have a collective 70% arid and semi-arid land within their territories.
    2. The mission of IGAD is to assist and complement the efforts of the member States to achieve, through increased cooperation;
        1. Food security and environmental protection
        2. Peace and security
        3. Economic cooperation and integration in the region.