List of Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN SAD) Member Countries

CEN-SAD became a Regional Economic Community during the 36th Ordinary Session of the Conference of Heads of State and Government of the African Union, held in Lomé (Republic of Togo) in July 2000.

Picture/United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

List of Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN SAD) Member Countries

The Community of Sahel-Saharan States was founded on 4th February 1998 in Libya. The community was put together by former Libyan leader Muammar Muhammad Abu Minyar al-Gaddafi.

Other founding members were heads of state and representatives of Sudan, Mali, Burkina Faso, Niger, and Chad.

The community was formed to establish the free movement of persons, capitals, and interests of nationals of the member countries.


The following are the member states of the Community of Sahel-Saharan States;

    1. Benin
    2. Burkina Faso
    3. The Central African Republic
    4. Chad
    5. Comoros
    6. Côte d’Ivoire
    7. Djibouti
    8. Egypt
    9. Eritrea
    10. The Gambia
    11. Ghana
    12. Guinea-Bissau
    13. Libya
    14. Mali
    15. Mauritania
    16. Morocco
    17. Niger
    18. Nigeria
    19. Senegal
    20. Sierra Leone
    21. Somalia
    22. Sudan
    23. Togo
    24. Tunisia


Also read: List of Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) Member Countries