List of All SADC Member Countries

Read on to view the member countries of the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC).

List of All SADC Member Countries

The Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) is a regional block consisting of 16 countries.

It was formed for the following objectives;

    1. Regional integration.
    2. Cultivating peace and security.
    3. Poverty eradication through economic development in Southern Africa.

SADC headquarters are in Gaborone, Botswana.

The following are the SADC Member states;

1. Angola

    1. Angola is the second-largest country south of the Sahara after the Democratic Republic of the Congo.
    2. With just over 17 million population, Angola’s economy is mainly driven by oil.
    3. Its capital is Luanda while its official language is Portuguese.


2. Botswana

    1. Botswana is a country found in the central part of southern Africa.
    2. The Botswana economy is mainly pegged on diamond mining, with other sectors such as agriculture playing key roles.
    3. The Kalahari Desert occupies 70% of Botswana.
    4. While Setswana is the national language, English is the official language of Botswana.


3. Comoros

    1. Comoros was admitted into SADC in 2017.
    2. The Comoros is a volcanic archipelago, composed of 4 islands, located off the east coast of Africa.
    3. The Comoros economy is sustained by agriculture, tourism, and the blue economy.



Also read: List of All COMESA Member Countries



4. The Democratic Republic of the Congo

    1. The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is a country in Central Africa with approximately 108 million people.
    2. It is the second-largest country in Africa after Algeria.
    3. Its capital is Kinshasa and President Félix Antoine Tshisekedi is the head of state.
    4. The DRC currency is the Congolese franc (CDF).


5. The Kingdom of Eswatini

    1. Eswatini is a country in Southern Africa with approximately 1.1 million people.
    2. Its capital is Lobamba (royal and legislative) and Mbabane (Administrative).
    3. King Mswati III  is the head of state.
    4. The Eswatini currency is the Lilangeni(SZL).


6. Lesotho 

    1. The Kingdom of Lesotho is found in the southeastern region of Southern Africa.
    2. Lesotho is entirely surrounded by South Africa.
    3. Lesotho’s population is approximately 2 million.
    4. Its official languages are Sesotho and English with the capital in Maseru.


7. Madagascar

    1. Madagascar is an island situated 400 km off the east coast of Africa.
    2. French is the official language, while Malagasy is the national language.
    3. Antananarivo is both the administrative and commercial capital of the country.


8. Malawi

    1. Malawi is a landlocked country located in southern central Africa
    2. Its capital is Lilongwe and President Lazarus Chakwera is the head of state and government.
    3. The Malawian currency is the Kwacha(D)(MWK).


9. Mauritius

    1. The Republic of Mauritius sits in the Indian Ocean and is approximately 2,400 km from the southeast coast of Africa.
    2. Its capital is Port Louis and Prime Minister Pravind Kumar JUGNAUTH
      is the head of government.
    3. The Mauritius currency is the Mauritian rupee (MUR).


10. Mozambique

    1. Mozambique is a country that lies on the east coast of Southern Africa.
    2. Agriculture is the backbone of the country’s economy and employs most of the population.
    3. Portuguese is the official language, with English also being a major language.


11. Namibia

    1. Namibia is a country on Africa’s southwestern coastline.
    2. The mining and tourism sectors are major revenue earners in Namibia.
    3. Namibia’s capital is Windhoek and its currency is the Namibian Dollar (N$).


12. Seychelles

    1. Seychelles is a cosmopolitan island off the coast of East Africa.
    2. It has 3 official languages which are English, French, and Creole.
    3. The Seychelles currency is the Seychellois rupee(SCR).


13. South Africa

    1. South Africa is a country that occupies the southernmost point of the African continent.
    2. South Africa is also among the top 3 strongest economies in Africa along with Nigeria and Egypt.
    3. President Cyril Ramaphosa is the head of state and government.



Also read: List of All European Union (EU) Members



14. The United Republic of Tanzania

    1. The United Republic of Tanzania is a country in East Africa that includes the islands of Zanzibar and Pemba.
    2. Tanzania’s economy is heavily dependent on Agriculture which employs most of the population.
    3. Tanzania has Kiswahili as an official language along with English which is mainly used in commerce.


15. Zambia

    1. Zambia is a country in southern Africa that is entirely landlocked.
    2. Mining is the main economic activity given Zambia’s rich endowment of copper, cobalt, and gold.
    3. English is the official language that is widely spoken in Zambia.
    4. The Zambian currency is the Zambian Kwacha(ZMK).


16. Zimbabwe

    1. Zimbabwe is a country in southern Africa that economically depends on Agriculture.
    2. Its capital is Harare and President Emmerson Mnangagwa is the head of state and government.
    3. The Zimbabwean currency is Zimbabwean Dollars(ZW$).